The First Hike (if it can be called that)

1 Sep

I took the first hike on August 27th. It was a balmy -13 F. Yes, that is 13 degrees BELOW zero. There was very little wind and I even thought it was warm out.

Linda and I took a small hike to Hut Point. It’s about 1/2 mile round trip, but it was really beautiful out. There were very little clouds and wind and the stars looked brilliant. I felt like I was in a planitarium on a school trip. You could almost make out the mountains across the way and we watched the little daylight we had slowly disappear.

It was nice to be outside and hiking again. And it felt wonderful to see the scenery at night. I know that is one of the things I tend to miss while I am here for the summer…darkness. I wanted to take in as much as could.

As we started on our way back to the room, I realized my vision was blurred. I wasn’t exacty sure why until we returned to town in more light. I questioned Linda and she informed me that I had had little icicles that had built on my eye lashes. I’d never had that happen before and it was a bit odd.

'EYE' cicles

It was worth the walk, but made me realize that it’s a very harsh climate and to be as protected and bundled up as possible.

Lesson Learned: Next time bring goggles!

One Response to “The First Hike (if it can be called that)”

  1. Dad September 11, 2010 at 3:08 pm #

    Looks to cold for me unless we were out skiing.

Leave a Reply

