More Jews on Ice-Challah-palooza

3 Nov

So Yom Kippur came and I was fortunately able to get the evening and day off.  Linda and I met in the synagogue (the side portion of the Chapel of the Snows) and met another Jewish friend of ours that is down here, Ben (who works in the food warehouse), and celebrated Kol Nidre (the opening ceremony of Yom Kippur) by listening to Neil Diamond’s version of Kol Nidre from the Jazz Singer.  I know it seems a bit cheesy, but it worked.  It was much less eventful than acutally being a part of a service and listening to the wonderful tune of the rabbi chanting the Kol Nidre melody.  I guess you make things work when you are here on the ice. 

Earlier I had a nice dinner consisting of chicken breast, rice and vegetables.  I would have loved some matzoh ball soup, but I will have to wait until Passover for that tasty treat!  I decided that I would try really hard to fast for the entire time.  I knew that I was in a completely new enviroment and not sure how my body would react to a lack of food and water so I would consider a snack if I absolutely needed to.

The following morning I continued the holiday by meeting Linda, the rabbi (AKA the doctor) and Ben back at the synagogue.  He brought a copy of the services for Yom Kippur morning.  We all took turns reading English and interjecting some Hebrew occassionally.  It was a really nice service and we got into some great discussions regarding the how we could be grateful for the things we have while so much around us was in turmoil.  We even solicited the opinion from the Chaplin as he happened to pass by.  It was a really nice morning and I great way to share the thoughts of the holiday with others.  As the morning service ended, we agreed that a nice break time to relax, take a little nap, and time to reflect was in order. 

We met up later in the afternoon for the evening and concluding services and planned to head to dinner after we finished up.  We went through the evening and concluding services and even included Havdalah (one of the final parts of the sabbath and holiday services).  We didn’t have a spice box so we used a packet of Apple Cider mix and we didn’t have a glass of wine or challah (yet) so we just pretended, but said the prayers.  There was very old grape juice in the box we found during Rosh Hashanah, but all agreed that it would not be in our best interest to drink it. 

Overall, it was a nice holiday.  I didn’t really notice my hunger like I have in the past.  I ended up drinking water during the day because it’s extremely dry here and you can get dehydrated easier here and really sick.  I didn’t want to chance that. 

Dinner was wonderful and probably tasted better to the three of us than any others that night.  We had steak, potatoes, and the BEST EVER challah that I have ever tasted.  It was so perfect that word can’t describe it.  I ate about three pieces during dinner and took a few more with me.  Since I didn’t have my camera with me at dinner, I figured I would use them to capture (as best as possible) the amazing challah we feasted on that night.  This holiday is now known to me as Challah-palooza, the great feast of of Challah.

I know photos don't due it justice, but it was golden, round, and delicious.

I know photos don't due the challah justice, but it was beautifully golden, round, and delicious.

One Response to “More Jews on Ice-Challah-palooza”

  1. Mom November 4, 2008 at 2:24 pm #

    So who made the Challah? And what made it so delicious and different?

Leave a Reply

