Another Self Guided Tour

15 Oct
The first view behind the Chapel of the Snows.

The first view behind the Chapel of the Snows. You can see Black Island in the background on the right and White Island on the right. All the land between is road to the Pegasus airfield that is all on ice.

I had my first day off on September 10 and decided to take advantage of the day!  I slept in (resting my left cheek!), took a nice long shower, leisurely ate some breakfast (during lunchtime), and met up with Linda after her work day for a self guided tour of McMurdo. 

We bundled up really well and headed out.  We came across all sorts of buildings with a building number on them, but no realy signage of what they were.  I took the following photos, but am still working on what the buildings are.  I have done my best to explain what I saw on my self guided tour of the station.  (I did use my resources and the little map we recieved on the first day).

This is Hut 10, the nice little building for the DV's (distinguished visitors).  It has a nice sitting area, dinning room, and kitchen.

This is Hut 10, the nice little building for the DV's (distinguished visitors). We can rent it for a night, but it books up quick! It has a dining room, a few bedrooms, a nice sitting room/entertainment center, and a nice patio with lounge chairs for sunning yourself. Go figure!

 

This is Linda at one of the doors to the science building called Crary Labs.  I thought the NASA sticker was pretty cool!

This is Linda at one of the doors to the science building called Crary. I thought the NASA sticker was pretty cool!

The front view of the Crary Science and Engineering Center.  Notice ALL of the recycling bins.  It's a bit overwhelming!

The front view of the Crary Science and Engineering Center. Notice ALL of the recycling bins. It

This is the NSF Chalet.  I am still not sure what they do, but I have heard I can get my passport stamped there with the Antarctica stamp.

This is the NSF Chalet. I am still not sure what they do, but I have heard I can get my passport stamped there with the Antarctica stamp.

This is the view of the Helo Pad from behind the Crary Center.

This is the view of the Helo Pad from behind the Crary Center. In the background is additional georgous views of Antarctica.

 

As we continued our self-guided tour, we found this nice view of Mt. Erebus, the live volcano, in the background.

As we continued our self-guided tour, we found this nice view of Mt. Erebus, the live volcano, in the background.

The station sign right behind my initial dorm (the temporary penthouse suite with the ocean views).  This sign overlooks the Winter Quarter's Bay and the Ice Pier.  This will be where the ice breaker creates a path for the cargo vessel to bring all of our supplies in January.

The station sign right behind my initial dorm (the temporary penthouse suite with the ocean views). This sign overlooks the Winter Quarter Bay and the Ice Pier. This is where the ice breaker will make way for the cargo vessel to bring all our supplies in January.

 

 

The AMAZING sunset we witnessed as we concluded our self-guided tour.

The AMAZING sunset we witnessed as we concluded our self-guided tour. We needed to appreciate all the sunsets because soon we won't see them from down here. It's breathtaking!

 

The final view of our tour.  On the far left is the Chapel of the Snows.  The building on the right is the Water Distillation Plant.  And if you look up between the two buildings you can see the moon.

The final view of our tour. On the far left is the Chapel of the Snows. The building on the right is the Water Distillation Plant. And if you look up between the two buildings you can see the moon.

Leave a Reply

