Meeting the Kiwi’s…The Hike to Scott Base

6 Oct

September 18:  My first hike was to the NZ base, Scott Base.  It was about 2 1/2 miles away (not sure which direction, though).  The tour guide was my fearless roommate Talie (aka McGeyvor) and Linda joined us.  We prepared accordingly by hydrating and eating a good meal then bunded up with all of our ECW (Extreme Cold Weather) Gear.  We checked out at the Firehouse (required to take most hikes) and headed on our way.  These first photos were at the beginning of our hike.  It was truly amazing!  I couldn’t believe I was hiking on Antarctica.  It’s still unreal!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yes, those are mountains in the distance.

Yes, those are mountains in the distance.This is about half way there on the road we came up. A little incline, but it was the wind that was not my friend!

The hike was not as cold as one would imagine.  I had hand and feet warmers and all kinds of layers that were actually making me HOT!  I had to remove some as we started walking.  The veiws were just incredible and these photos don’t do justice.  It was wonderful to be able to have such an opportunity to see this place.  As we hiked, Talie pointed out several points of interest (not that I could recall them all or take the perfect photo).  She was a great and safe tour guide.  It makes sense that she owned a company back in Crested Butte, CO doing the same thing! 
The view from the top of the Donkey Path.  Notice Scott Base in the background.  And yes, it's all green.  How fitting!

The view from the top of the Donkey Path. Notice Scott Base in the background. And yes, it is all GREEN! How fitting!

We verred off the roard and took the ‘Donkey Path’ (Karen, I thought of Brian, you, and all of your donkeys) or the short cut to Scott Base.  Here is the view from the top of the road plus a few other shots.

This is Talie setting up her tripod for taking the photo of us all.  She's so like McGeyvor.  It's too bad that she's not heard of McGeyvor!

This is Talie setting up her tripod for taking the photo of us all. She

The picture of all three of us (using McGeyvor's tripod)

The picture of all three of us (using McGeyvor

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My fabulous roommate Talie and I; enjoying the hike!
My fabulous roommate Talie and I; enjoying the hike!  Notice my open coat!  It got warm out there.
   
It was pretty amazing.  The base was pretty small, but really cute.  i think it was perfect that all the buildings were green.  Also, they were all connected.  We walked around to the front of the store and took a few more shots.
Linda and I entering Scott Base to meet the Kiwi's!

Linda and I entering Scott Base to meet the Kiwi

We got to the Scott Base store and removed a few more layers of clothing.  The store is much smaller than ours at McMurdo, but it has some unique items that were worthy of a hike and heading there before it closed.  I purchased a speical Kiwi candy that Talie recommended.  I feel that chocolate will help keep my warm from the inside out, right?  I’ll let you know.
We headed to the bar (since it was American night and that’s what you are supposed to do).  It was a small room with a tiny bar, a few tables and chairs, a pool table, and a couch.  We were one of the first there and popped a squat and started thawing.  We met some other people from McMurdo and learned about our new friends. 
As the evening progressed, more from McMurdo joined us and the room filled up.  Since it was pretty small (like the size of a small meeting room), about 20 more people filled it up.  As more people came, the more alcohol came out and I took my first glance at the ‘Shot-ski.”  This really intrigued me and I inquired.
There is a ski that has five shot glasses attached.  You find four friends and each take a shot at the
SAME time.  Since I was feeling adventurous and we had decided that it would be in our best interest to take the shuttle back to McMurdo, I convinced my clan (a total of three of us) to try this out.  Of course  Talie had done this before and gave us some pointers.  I found two more friends (Bethany & Jackie) and we headed up to the bar.  Here are some photos of how this went down as well as a short video (technical difficulties again.  If you would like a copy of the video, send me an email and I will forward it to you).  Keep in mind we’d all been working a long day and it was Thursday!  (Karen, please edit for adult content.)
This was the planning and preparation phase.  We needed to synchronize or this could have been messy!

This was the planning and preparation phase. We needed to synchronize or this could have been messy!

Get ready...here it comes!

Get ready...here it comes!

I felt like I was back in college with this!  It was fun, but then it hit me that I had to be at work (and with knives) at 5am the next morning.  Needless to say that this was my last adult beverage of the evening.   I nibbled on some bar snacks and drank plenty of water then took it easy for the remainder of the evening.
As we headed out to get ready to take the shuttle back to McMurdo, I noticed the following:
The Kiwi recycling center is only four bins.  I think I should request a transfer!

The Kiwi recycling center is only four bins. I think I should request a transfer!

A shot of the kiwi coat cubby.  There's only one wall.  That's how small they are.  It would be much easier to find BIG RED every day!

A shot of the kiwi coat cubby. There

We caught the shuttle back to McMurdo.  It was an exciting evening starting off with a great hike and ending with doing a shot off of a ski!  I know this is going to be a great 6 months!
Leave a Reply

