Two Weeks To Go…

18 Aug

The final countdown has begun.  I have exactly 14 days until my official deployment to The Ice.  I am so excited that words can’t describe it!  Where did the summer go?  With the help of family and friends, I am slowly packing my world in Colorado into a duffle not weighing more than 65 pounds.  What a challenge! 

It might seem that I have fallen off of the face of the earth during this summer and neglected my duties to keep you informed of my current status, but that’s not the case.  I am back and motivated!  

Over the next two weeks, I plan to keep you posted and educated on all the goings-on in my preparation for departure.   

At this point, I have received my flight information, my confirmation of my e-ticket and my luggage tags!  They are great!  My passport is ready to go.  I have started assembling all of my clothing and gear as well as the little items that will keep my mind occupied while I play on the big ice cube (ie: books, cards, wordfinds, etc.).  I have been consulting my resources (friends that have been to The Ice and The Participant Guide) regarding exactly what to bring and how much of it.  It feels like I am leaving for college again. 

The hardest part about this trip that I can’t prepare for is leaving my family and friends.  As I pack and prepare for my adventures, I keep thinking about all of the wonderful people in my life that I am going to miss.  Both in-state and miles away, I have great support and encouragement that will make this trip easier.  Thanks to all of you that have been there through my trials and tribulations to get to this point.  I know that you share my enthusiasm and will continue to be my biggest supporters.

Leave a Reply

